Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

-

Espers,Narcs,and Monkey Bones

2003-03-10 5:50 pm

as i'm enjoying the waning moments of my 3-day weekend, i decided i should probably update this thing. the sparseness of entries as of late can be attributed to a lack of noteworthy events and printworthy ideas, and not so much a lack of interest.

i have been consuming a large amount of sci-fi, in the space of little more than a month, i've finished 3 books of the Foundation series, Scanner Darkly, and i am currently working on Bester's The Demolished Man.

labwork is coming along as it is prone to, in bursts of activity. i find that i am quite a different breed of anthropologist than my professor and the other grads of the bioanthro enclave here, as i adhere strongly to the ideology of the biocultural perspective, while they tend to focus solely on their branch of evolutionary anthropology; comparative evolutionary ontogeny, life history, etc. i think in fact that i am part of a distinct minority throughout academia, and not simply here at Hunter. the only impact this knowledge has upon me is to reinforce my sense of isolation within the program. my steadfastness in the utility and importance of my interests remain, however, undaunted.

from dust - from ashes

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

[ Previous 5 Sites | Skip Previous | Previous | Next ]

This RingSurf New College Diaryring Net Ring
owned by Letters From the End of Time.

[ Skip Next | Next 5 Sites | Random Site | List Sites ]

Site
Meter