Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

-

I need a Phoenix Down

2002-12-07 12:00 pm

life right now is final fantasy 10, farscape, and school (work is omitted, as work cannot possible be considered life).

so, after a long overdue conversation with malraux, i've decided to shed some light onto my work in the lab, and the lab itself.

The lab, HTRU (Hard Tissue Research Unit) is a center which studies non-demineralized bone, primarily by embedding it in polymethylmethacrylate n(PMMA) and imaging it under electron and light microscopes. Sounds more like histology than anthro, right? well, the objective of these studies is, ultimately, to understand human and primate evolution, through the manner in which bone grows and changes.

i have been working on a staining protocol (staining bone makes certain features show up during imaging) utilizing blood as the staining agent. this has never, ever been attempted before. after working on it for months, it seemed like it was going nowhere, the stain wouldn't take. i tried a variety of variations and all of them sucked bigtime. until yesterday, that is. i was getting ready to image my final test protocol and get rid of it, but what i saw made my jaw drop. a deep rust-red martianesque landscape of haversian systems and osteocytes. the story humanity's past told in hues and shades of blood.

it worked.

it motherfucking worked.

and the work continues.

now all i need is a break from the barrage of greeks i'm subjected to every single fucking day. over 10,000 of them since the day i started. makes me wanna crawl under my bed with a shotgun and shoot at anything i hear.

from dust - from ashes

Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

[ Previous 5 Sites | Skip Previous | Previous | Next ]

This RingSurf New College Diaryring Net Ring
owned by Letters From the End of Time.

[ Skip Next | Next 5 Sites | Random Site | List Sites ]

Site
Meter